St Mary's Primary School Dilwyn : with css & html

Staff and Management

In addition to Head of School and Teaching Staff, there are two bodies responsible for the management of the school;


Mr Peter Kyles

Experienced Advanced Skills teacher specialising in Science.

Lead teachers

Mrs Cathy Shaw

Experienced Teacher,  Teacher at Key Stage 2 (Years 3 & 4), specialising in Literacy support, Music and Languages.

Mrs Kate Goad

Experienced Teacher,  Teacher at Key Stage 1 and 2

Mrs Sally Kyles

Experienced Early Years Teacher, Teacher at Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1.

Mrs Simone Eckley

Experienced Teacher, Teacher at Key Stage 2 (Years 5 & 6).

Board of Trustees

Mrs Madeleine Spinks (Independent)

Mr Geoffrey Herdman (Independent)

The Rev. Michael Kneen (Trustee of the School building) - appointed Dec 2018

Mrs Jane Voogd (Independent) - appointed October 2019


Brig. (retd) John Spackman (Independent) - retired from the Board August 2018

Mr Tom Hawksley (Church warden, Trustee of school building) - retired from the Board April 2019

Mr John Gerrish (Diocesan Education Trust), Chairman - deceased March 2020

Board of Governors

Please see 'Public Downloads' for Register of Interests

Mrs Madeleine Spinks (Chairman, Parent Governor)

Mrs Ellie Brown ( Vice Chairman, Community Governor)

Mr Steve Thomas (Community Governor)

Mr Peter Kyles (Principal, Staff Governor)

Mrs Jane Clarke (Staff Governor)

Mrs Sally Kyles (Foundation Governor)

Rev. Matthew Burns (Foundation Governor)

Mrs Louise Lewis (Parent Governor)

Mrs Hannah Bannister-White (Parent Governor)


Mrs Isobel Gibson (Clerk to the Governors)



Church Of England

Incumbent vicar - Reverand Matthew Burns

We are  a member of the Herefordshire Diocesan Education Trust, together with all other Anglican Schools within the Herefordshire diocese.

This provides us with the support of other small schools and is useful in relation to staff training and inter-school activities.  

Specialist Teachers

Mrs Alex Bennett

Qualified teacher, specialising in Dance and PE.

Mrs Jane Clarke 

Experienced teacher, specialising in Art and Forest School.

Classroom Assistants

Teaching Assistants:

Mrs Karen Hoare KS1

Mrs Juliet Pudge KS1

Mrs Sue Thomas KS2

Miss Charlotte Taylor KS2

Volunteers:  Mrs Pat Colling


Office Staff

Mrs Elaine Stilwell 

School Secretary and PA to Mr Kyles


Support Staff

Mr Mike Edge  -  Site Manager/Supervisor/Sports coach

Miss Mel Nicholas  -  Cleaner/Supervisor

Mr Mark Stowell - Rugby Coach



Mrs Lynn Sherwood - Music Teacher  (Encore Music)

Mrs Hazel Martys - Peripatetic Music Teacher (Encore accredited)



Private Music Tuition

Private Music Teachers are available to offer lessons in school time.

Mrs. Lorna Ruth - Woodwind/Piano



Friends of St Mary's C of E Primary School

This is a charity run by an elected committee, who hold regular meetings.  The membership is open to anyone who would like to support the school.  Friends of St Mary's aim to raise additional funds to provide extra equipment and experiences for the pupils.

Community Support

The village community has already shown enormous commitment to the school and it's role as a vital part of community life. There are a large number of volunteers who help with school.  Volunteers are involved in grounds maintenance, classroom assistance, sports and school trips.


St Mary's Primary School Logo